Crime Fiction Alphabet : Letter D

This week’s letter in Kerrie’s Crime Fiction Alphabet is the letter D.

I’ve chosen to focus on Dana Stabenow, an Alaskan writer. I came across her books through Amazon Kindle, where her first book in the Kate Shugak seriesis available for free! It’s A Cold Day for Murder, which won an Edgar Award for Best Paperback Original in 1993.

Dana’s biography is on her website, where there is a complete list of her books. She’s a prolific writer who writes science fiction, mystery, and suspense/thriller novels.

The books in her series about Kate Shugak, an Aleut who is an investigator living in a National Park in Alaska, are:

1. A Cold Day for Murder (1992)
2. A Fatal Thaw (1992)
3. Dead in the Water (1993)
4. A Cold-blooded Business (1994)
5. Play With Fire (1995)
6. Blood Will Tell (1996)
7. Breakup (1997)
8. Killing Grounds (1998)
9. Hunter’s Moon (1999)
10. Midnight Come Again (2000)
11. The Singing of the Dead (2001)
12. A Fine and Bitter Snow (2002)
13. A Grave Denied (2003)
14. A Taint in the Blood (2004)
15. A Deeper Sleep (2007)
16. Whisper to the Blood (2009)
17. A Night Too Dark (2010)
18. Though Not Dead (2011)
19. Restless in the Grave (2012)
20. Bad Blood (2013)

Conspiracy (2011)
Nooses Give (2011)
Wreck Rights (2011)

There’s more information on Dana’s writing on her blog. I’m only part way into read A Cold Day for Murder, but so far I’m finding it fascinating with lots of description of both the setting, environmental issues and the characters. Kate comes across as a strong and independent female detective.


Author: Margaret

Contact me at